Coke In a Bottle…

That is to say in a baby bottle…and I thought I had heard it all!

Well, I wish this story I heard recently was a joke, a riddle of a figment of someone’s imagination!!  Alas, no, it’s true.  There are parents  who are actually putting Coke in baby bottles.  In the event that there are people out there confused about this issue.  Don’t do it!  Not sure why?  Well allow me to tell you…

I could go on a rampage here about exactly how bad Coke is for you, or your baby that is.  Gee, and I thought the biggest dilemma most young mothers have is jarred baby food or home made baby food, breast feeding or not, what kind of baby formula.  I am still emphatic that most mothers are more concerned about these issues than whether or not to give their baby Coke in a bottle.  But for the few that I have recently heard about, let me give you the top 10 reasons not to put Coke in your baby’s bottle:

  1. Their teeth will fall out, or should I say have to be yanked out by a dentist or at least I would guess so;
  2. They might develop ADHD, just a guess on my part;
  3. How in the world will they fall asleep at night?  So they might have poor sleeping habits;
  4. They might develop illnesses related to the chemicals in Coke, just a guess on my part of course;
  5. They might be extra cranky and extra irritable, oh gee, how fun;
  6. They will certainly be missing important nutrients and vitamins relating to the substitution for Coke instead of milk;
  7. Other children in the house will certainly learn poor habits, oh wait, they probably had Coke too;
  8. Within the first 10 minutes of consumption your baby will have consumed 10 teaspoons of sugar;
  9. Your baby’s blood sugar spikes, causing an insulin burst;
  10. The baby’s liver will probably respond by turning the sugar into fat.

Coke is bad for a baby and that is my own personal opinion.  So since I have provided you with information on what I believe is very strong evidence not to give your baby, your child, Coke.  Let me provide you with an idea for a substitute.  Tired of putting milk in a bottle?  Try some diluted chamomile tea.  It helps put the baby to sleep and is great for digestion.  Again, just my opinion.

2 thoughts on “Coke In a Bottle…

  1. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I do not know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a comment